On Being A Christian… Again

By Adeyinka Shittu

WARNING: This piece is not for the faint-hearted or religiously inclined people who are unwilling to see 
reason. 

***

“I’ve been hypertensive since June 2015” he says, swirling a petri dish. 

I look at him from the corner of my glasses. He’s about my height, with skin the colour of ripened dates and a head full of hair. He’s not many years older than me (and I’m a few months shy of 20) but he’s hypertensive. 

His heart doesn’t beat right and his blood doesn’t flow right. 

“I thought the BP scale was messing with me until I checked days later. Since then, I’ve been using drugs just about every day the sun chooses to rise.”

“So did that change anything?” I ask, my already low-pitched voice going lower. 

“Frankly, no. All the drugs do is make me restless and unable to sleep so, I stopped.”

“Because you have faith?”

“No. Because it wasn’t working.”

We continued working in silence, (as working with deadly microorganisms requires) while my mind worked out the detail. 

What was I to tell him?
You’re not sleeping because “God gives his beloved sleep” but you’re not beloved? 

We cleaned up the lab after we were done with the experiments and I couldn’t help asking. 

“What’s the worst part of being sick?”

“It’s being a Christian” he answers, not missing a beat. 

“Being a Christian means you have a problem but you can’t admit it. You have to say ‘I’m strong’ and ‘I have faith’. You have to put up with Christians who express disgust for other ‘Christians’ who don’t work the Word or ‘speak to mountains’. It’s annoying having to endure it everyday.”

I felt anger rise in my veins like a surge as he spoke. If it helped, I would’ve gladly hit those ‘Christians’, smash their skulls and drain their blood for being insensitive, for not knowing that knowledge is knowing what can be said but wisdom is knowing when not to say it. 

It’s annoying enough that when you meet those type of people in elevators and ask ‘are you going down?’ they say ‘I’m going up in Jesus name’ but, must they extend it to every sphere of life? 

How do you tell someone who feels the pressure of being alive in his blood that the reason he’s stressed is because he has no faith? 

How insensitive can Christians be? 

***

Ever had to endure Christians? If so, share your experience(s) in the comments section. I’m waiting! 

9 thoughts on “On Being A Christian… Again

  1. WWJD? Jesus wouldn’t pretend the problem doesnt exist as we religious ppl do. He would recognize there is a problem; but he wouldnt stop at recognizing, he would go ahead to speak to it. Remember the storm? Jesus didnt wake up to say “there is no storm jor” he recognized there was a storm, but he didnt stop there, he spoke to it. Our problem as a religious people is that we don’t even want to accept there are problems anymore. As a matter of fact, we tell God we are rich, yet we ask him to bless us! I am strong, yet you ask him to heal you. (they come to the hospital and you ask what the problem is, they go like “i am strong” my response is usually “so u shouldn’t be here”). i believe in positive confessions, but we should never forget in this world, there are trials and tribulation. it is only natural to fall sick; it is however spiritual to ask knowing God is willing to hear and ready to respond. #OkBye

    1. True…. I mean all d sick people Jesus healed never said I am well , they all brought their complaints too him and received healing by faith. Faith is not being oblivious to d problem but rather believing even through the problem ….

  2. Brilliant piece Mr Shittu. I have always maintained that faith is not a denial of one’s circumstances. It is confidence in GOD inspite of the circumstances. Religious folk think that by denying they have faith. That’s not what God calls us to.
    Keep up the good work bruv.

Leave a Reply

