My Demon and I

By Sharon Olanrewaju

In this dark cave…
I jerk at every sound.
Eyes darting here and there
Hair on end… head reeling
I know that outside, the sun is soon to set,
And MY DEMON, soon to arrive.

But while I wait,
The darkness closes in
LONELINESS…. DEPRESSION…
I hear another sound
I see a ghost
My head whirls around
I hit the wall…
PAIN…

PAIN…

PAIN…

I forgot the wall
How could I?
These old familiar walls
My closest foes
They bring me my death throes,
They bind me to MY DEMON.

MY DEMON…
My devoted tormentor, who alone stirs up the well of grief from within my lonely soul, who draws up the spring of tears to wash my battered face.

MY DEMON
My sole satisfaction
You fill my hollow heart with hampers of soothing sadness
You quench my thirst for companionship with your fearful presence.
Make me sob…Make me cry
Make me wail…Make me mourn
MY DEMON!
Able one.

MY DEMON is soon to arrive

And I’m waiting…

SADLY, but waiting…

AND THEN!

I see a little light fluttering in…
Maybe it’s simply my illusion

BUT…

It’s coming in…

faintly bright…

faintly brighter….

BRIGHTER!

I CAN SEE IT!

LIGHT!

MY DEMON never allows light
He says it’s always too bright
Who can it be ?
And the stone is being rolled away…

I CAN SEE IT…

I CAN HEAR IT…

MY DEMON never rolls the stone away

I look around…
No one is watching

THIS IS MY CHANCE!

The chance I’ve been waiting for!
I can just run away…

I’ll escape MY DEMON forever
He has brought me nothing but pain anyways

PAIN ANGUISH TEARS AND PAIN…….

I’ll leave this life behind… like it never happened before

I’ll be FREE…freeeeeeee!

But…

WAIT A MINUTE…

“Would I dare to leave him behind?

MY DEMON

Would I leave him behind?

He would be so ALONE…and

DEPRESSED…?

He would be in…

PAIN…?

That would be so unfair
How would he survive without me??
Who else does he have???
There would be no one else for him to torment
No soul to feed on…
No tears to drink…
And Besides…
the light coming in is just too bright
The dark cave, I realize is just fit for my dull sight
The light beckons to me…from afar
The darkness closes in…so near
Haven’t I heard them say;
‘The demon you know… is better than the Angel you do not know?'”

NO!

I’LL WAIT…

My demon is soon to arrive

I won’t let him down…

I’LL WAIT.

And I’m still here, WAITING…

Like the Jews, WAITING…

It sometimes crosses my mind:

‘That MY DEMON has arrived a long time ago,

That MY DEMON is here with ME,

That MY DEMON IS ME’.

image
theodsseyonline.com

3 thoughts on “My Demon and I

Leave a Reply

