Where Is God When It Hurts? (2)

By Adeyinka Shittu

image
©Zindy S. D. Nielsen

(I strongly suggest you read this while listening to ‘Even When It Hurts’ by Hillsong United.)

***

Someone read the first part of this post and decided to tell me his story.

“Since I was ten, all I wanted was to be an engineer so when I was admitted to study mechanical engineering; I was ready to take on the world…

Despite my fasting and praying and studying and not smoking, not drinking and not rolling with those who did, by the end of the first semester, I succeeded in failing 4 courses. At the end of the session when my CGPA was as low as the GDP in Nigeria, I was asked to withdraw or transfer to another department.

I cried for days because of the pain and because the Man in the clouds wouldn’t speak any words of comfort. I felt abandoned and like you, I couldn’t help asking, ‘God where are you?’
…It has been two years since that happened. I accepted the schools offer to transfer to the Geology program…now that I look back on that period of my life, I can say for sure God was in the middle of it with me…

In my opinion, the answer to the question (Where is God when it hurts?) is this, He’s in the middle of it with you.”

It makes too much brain doesn’t it?

When the bank takes your home away and the unpaid bills on your desk are as high as your dreams and depression threatens to sink you and your heart is filled with the question ‘Where is God when it hurts?’, that’s the answer.

God is in the middle of it with you.

When your friends turn and your family walks away because who you are doesn’t tally with who they want you to be and you think no one loves you, God is in the middle of it with you.

From the first tear you cried till today’s sunrise he’s been with you all the time because he is God. With. Us. ALL. The. Time.
Emmanuel.

Emmanuel is God dressed in skin living in your neighbourhood, feeling your joy and relating to your sorrow.

Emmanuel is God crying from the pain of circumcision and the exhaustion of hanging on a bloodied cross.

Emmanuel is God who still grieves the death of his friend despite the fact that he’s been dead four days.

Emmanuel is the One who is there when it hurts.

Although it’s not cute to swear, Emmanuel swore ‘I will not leave you, never abandon you; not now, not ever’.

In the middle of what we go through, God is. It’s hard to believe and impossible to see but it’s true as the words ‘God loves you’.

The question we should be asking when life goes topsy-turvy shouldn’t be ‘where is God when it hurts?’, it should be ‘what should I do while it hurts?’

Should I sit it this one out or should I teach my feet to dance upon disappointment? Do I make tears my food or do I worship like the wound is healed and praise like the pain is past?

***

When you get the chance to sit it out or dance, I hope you dance – Ronan Keating

***
Adeyinka Shittu currently has his giant-sized nose in Philip Yancey’s book ‘Where is God when it hurts?’ is why he wrote this. He hopes you’ll grab a copy of the book, share this post and read his blog sometime. It’s not too much to ask is it?

6 thoughts on “Where Is God When It Hurts? (2)

Leave a Reply

