You’re Gay And I’m Not – MyOpinion

So, here I am, on a topic that has over the last lots-of-months gone from being hot cake to I-don’t-know-what – LGBT.
I’m sure you know that the US Supreme Court has legalized homosexuality in all fifty states of their country – stale story, yeah? I know, so I won’t dwell on it.

What I want to dwell on in the stead, is the discrimination and segregation that comes with being homosexual and what not.
Let me say at this juncture that I do not, I repeat, DO NOT, in any way support homosexuality. I completely believe that it is a sin against God and one’s body. That said, back to the matter at hand – the stigma that comes with being gay.

Some time ago, I asked a friend of mine what he would do if I told him that I was attracted to girls and even had plans to settle down with a girl I had fallen in love with. The dude went ballistics on me mehn! He couldn’t stand the idea and even said that if I turned lesbian, that would mark the end of our friendship.

Now, that is my problem.

Why does this new sexuality of mine have to affect what we’ve had for so many years? Was our friendship based on our straightness? I mean, it’s not as if we were in a romantic relationship and we have to break up o, but just because a friend is going down some road I don’t find really cool I just have to let them loose and watch them have a long ride.

Whatever happened to that friendship that was based on love and respect?
I love you and I respect your wishes and choices and because of these, I’ll let you know that I’m not in support of your new lifestyle – being homosexual – and I won’t attend your wedding when you finally decide to get married to your lover – because that will mean I endorse your relationship – but, it doesn’t stop us from being the good friends that we’ve always been and, with every opportunity I find, I’ll always try to lovingly convince you based on the truth and of course, I’ll be praying for you.
Personally, I think that is what a good friend should do.

After all, not all choices and decisions made by our friends go down well with us – on different levels. I won’t stop being friends with someone just because they love Fufu and I can’t stand the smell of fermented cassava, I’ll simply leave the room for them to enjoy their meal and when they’re done, I come back or, they eat it when I’m not there. Shikena!

Relationships shouldn’t be fair-weathered, they should be able to stand the test of time and situations. When someone really means something to you, you don’t just let them loose and let them go without a fight, you strive to fix whatever has been broken – whatever kind of relationship it is.
Dear friend, yes, you’re presently grating on my nerves and I’m not particularly excited about this new lifestyle of yours but, I love you – mark that it’s you that I love, not your choices – and I’ll always be here for you no matter what you do.

This prejudice definitely goes beyond friendships and LGBTs only. What happened to accepting people for who they are and respecting their choices? If you can’t stand their choices or person, respectfully keep your distance but, don’t make them feel any less a human being than they are because you think they are wrong

Uhhh… Y’all know that this opinion isn’t an absolute, right? Toh!  I just thought I should add that, before some boyfriend-battered babe somewhere quotes me saying I said to fix our relationships no matter what. Babe, your own is not a ‘fixing’ issue o, it’s a carry-your-legs-and-run-away-before-he-kills-you issue.

‘Nough said!    

Queen’s Note: Hallo! I’m alive and well. I’m back too… I think.
I had planned on making a comeback to my Blog today so… Here I am. For the record, I’m not in a vegetative state 🙂
Thank you to everyone who checked in during my hiatus. As I told them, I’m prepping for the biggest exams of my life – Bar exams – and my books have taken so much priority these last few weeks.
I have mates who thought me crazy for even attempting to Blog in the course of the Law School programme… I think they’re right 😂😂 It’s crazy!
By the way, does anybody know how I can go back to being a toddler; just for a year or so. Adulthood and its responsibilities are kinda depressing 😑😑😑

Have a great week everyone!
And, Happy Fathers’ Day to the Dads and Dads-in-waiting

image

Love & Grace
       

3 thoughts on “You’re Gay And I’m Not – MyOpinion

Leave a Reply

